Rendezvous with Susan

I spent the entire day fighting people about finances or rather the lack thereof….just to spend my afternoon in queues at dischem trying to get the monthly prescriptions ticked off the to do list. It was just a normal day, work, school pick ups, shops and homebound. Or so I thought…but boy oh boy was I going to get it from a woman I’d never met….Susan…when I got home.

Make sense? Didn’t think so…this Susan was my mother in role play. She left everything to the imagination and the familiarity of my mother was gone as she greeted me by the door. The door had a sign that read “Restaurant open at 6pm“. “Good evening” she said. “I will be your host Susan for this evening. Please come in” . I checked my watch it reflected 18h09. “Perfect timing” I said smiling. We came into the dining hall curious and a little chatter arose from our excitement. Bear in mind, we are moving, so the lovely table settings and candles gave it a unique cosy feel between large mounds of boxes and tables stacked on one another. The first course was ready and Susan immediately ushered us into our seats, walked over to the bar and poured drinks on our request. Susan was an absolute delight. Making jokes, being a great chef and waiter and feeding our bellies to the brim. For the main course we demanded Susan join us and we sat watching as Kai chatted Susan up in front of his parents. What laughter filled the air!! A sense of a final dinner in our old home and some mischief for the new beginnings on the horizon. Susan pointed out that each evening the routine was homework, dogs, food and more routine. That we needed a bit of a spontaneous event to ignite our sparks into an enjoyable fire!

Upon receiving the bill, Kai pipes up to say he only has 3 R2 coins for payment. What we didn’t know is that the bill was paid in full. With motherly love.

It read: my precious children, a mother’s love is always for free. Thanks for loving me.

What an awesome way to end off a rough day with a bit of magic released by Susan!!!! This was a huge act, but any act small or large makes a difference to other’s lives. It sure made me feel extremely happy and blessed!

Leave a comment